Institut für Ökologie und Aktions-Ethnologie
Header

Guidelines

INFOE Switzerland supports a respectful interaction of mankind and nature. Based on the background of action anthropology, INFOE collaborates with indigenous communities and other local populations which are affected by the destruction of their natural and cultural environment. Main activities of INFOE include research, education, and lobbying. Natural resources are predominantly extracted on the territories of indigenous peoples and other marginalized populations of the global South without creating benefits for the affected people. Resources are often extracted and produced for consumption in the Northern hemisphere and leave destruction and contamination on the place of their origin. INFOE aims at informing about these implications because we think that the ecological crisis and the climate change became especially important due to the growing demands of the industrial countries. A profound transformation for a social equitable and ecological sustainable world is necessary for all of us.

INFOE is located at the intersection of academic research, education and civil society. Students and researchers of different academic fields, but especially from social sciences, as well as other interested persons collaborate in the activities of INFOE.
Our activities include
– Action research: Experts collaborate with students, interns or other interested people in elaborating action-oriented studies which are based on the requirements of the local populations.
– Education: In collaboration with teaching instructors from different levels we offer courses and help in finding experts. Furthermore, teaching material can be elaborated on the basis of existing material of INFOE.
– Public relations: We organize public events, lectures and film screenings and publish information material and research studies.
– Lobbying: INFOE engages in collaboration with other organization in campaigns to demand governments and companies to improve their control mechanisms and current practices.

INFOE functions as a contact place for ecologically and socially engaged education and research on all levels and for different disciplines. To achieve this goal, we maintain relationships with ‘action anthropologists’ which actively engage in working groups or contribute as advisors.

INFOE stands in close connection to indigenous people and other organizations as well as to academic institutions. We bring persons together who are interested in a specific topic or a specific region. This supports the creation of independent, transdiciplinary working groups.

Moreover, INFOE engages in knowledge transfer by organizing internships, research stays, volunteer work, information travels or conference participation.

Institut für Ökologie und Aktions-Ethnologie
Header

Leitbild

Infoe CH engagiert sich für einen respektvollen Umgang mit Mensch und Natur. Ausgehend vom Ansatz der action anthropology unterstützt Infoe Indigene Gemeinschaften und andere direkt von Natur- und Kulturzerstörung betroffene Bevölkerungsgruppen insbesondere im Bereich von Recherche, Forschung, Bildung, Öffentlichkeits- und Lobbyarbeit. Natürliche Ressourcen werden zu einem überwiegenden Teil auf Kosten von Indigenen und marginalisierten Bevölkerungsgruppen des ‚globalen Südens‘ abgebaut und produziert, um den Konsum des ‚Nordens‘ zu decken. Infoe macht auf diesen Zusammenhang aufmerksam, aus der Überzeugung heraus, dass die weltweite ökologische Krise und insbesondere der Klimawandel auch die Gesellschaften des Nordens betrifft, und dass ein tiefgreifender Wandel hin zu einer sozial gerechten und ökologisch nachhaltigen Welt notwendig ist.

Infoe CH wirkt an der Schnittstelle von universitärer Bildung, Forschung und Gesellschaft. Als Zusammenschluss von Studierenden und WissenschaftlerInnen verschiedener Fachrichtungen (mit Schwerpunkt Sozialwissenschaften), sowie anderen interessierten Personen betreibt Infoe Forschung, Bildungs-, Öffentlichkeits- und Lobbyarbeit.

– Aktionsforschung: Fachkundige Personen führen gemeinsam mit Studierenden, PraktikantInnen und sonstigen Interessierten Handlungsorientierte Studien durch, welche sich an den Bedürfnissen der direkt betroffenen Bevölkerung orientieren.

– Bildung: In Zusammenarbeit mit Lehrpersonen verschiedener Fachrichtungen werden Kurse angeboten sowie ReferentInnen vermittelt. Ausserdem können auf Basis der eigenen Studien Unterrichtsmaterialien erstellt werden.

– Öffentlichkeitsarbeit: Es werden öffentliche Veranstaltungen, Vorträge und Filmabende durchgeführt sowie Informationsmaterial und Studien publiziert.

– Lobbyarbeit: In Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Organisationen beteiligt sich Infoe an Kampagnen, um bei Regierungen und Konzernen konkrete Verbesserungen einzufordern.

Infoe funktioniert als Kontaktstelle für ökologisch und sozial engagierte Bildung und Forschung auf allen Stufen, für alle Fachrichtungen. Dazu wird ein Beziehungsnetz zu ‚AktionsforscherInnen‘ gepflegt, welche mit Ratschlägen, Kontakten etc. zur Verfügung stehen oder selbst aktiv in den Arbeitsgruppen mitwirken.

Infoe sucht Allianzen mit Indigenen und anderen Organisationen sowie mit Universitären Institutionen. Infoe führt Personen zusammen, welche sich für ein spezifisches Thema oder eine Region interessieren. Damit wird die Schaffung von selbständigen, transdisziplinären Arbeitsgruppen angeregt.

Ferner unterstützt Infoe den Erfahrungsaustausch durch die Vermittlung von Praktika, Forschungs-aufenthalten, Freiwilligeneinsätzen, Informations-Rundreisen sowie die Teilnahme an Konferenzen.

Infoe CH ist parteipolitisch und konfessionell neutral und nicht gewinnorientiert.